Go2Swim Fareham

Learn To Swim

The NPTS uses fun and games to take children from their first splash to full competence in the water via 10 Stages but is underpinned throughout by Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) principles, with clear progression between each stage. Stages 1 – 7 help develop the core range of FUNdamental skills your child needs to be confident, competent and safe in the water, whilst stages 8 – 10 offer the opportunity to develop skills from disciplines such as diving, water polo and Rookie Lifesaving in conjunction with the Royal Life-Saving Society. The syllabus provides opportunity and variety for swimmers, as well as providing a smooth, progressive structure to take them through the stages

Go2Swim Swimming Lessons Fareham Go2Swim Swimming Lessons Gosport


Stage 1

This stage is concerned with further developing basic safety awareness, basic movement skills and water confidence skills. Swimmers will become competent in floating (aided with woggles and floats), push & glide and move forwards and backwards throughout the water

Stage 2
This stage focuses on developing various safe entries and exits into and from the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel on the front and back up to a distance of five metres, and rotating the body to regain an upright position

Stage 3

Is concerned with developing safe entries into the water - including submersion - travel up to 10 metres on the front and back, and progressing water safety knowledge and body rotation skills with emphasis on refining streamlining and kicking and arm rotations

Stage 4

This stage aids the learner in developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills. Also covered is refining kicking techniques for all strokes. The swimmer also has to swim 10 metres to a standard directed by the ASA

Stage 5

During this stage swimmers develop 'watermanship' through sculling and treading water skills and body complete rotation. They also perform all strokes for a distance of 10 metres to a standard provided by the ASA within the ASA Learn to Swim Framework

Stage 6

Developing effective swimming skills - including coordinated breathing - across all strokes is the focus of this stage. Learners also have to swim a distance of 25 metres using a stroke of the swimmer's choice. Children also learn about aspects of water safety and about preparing properly for exercise

Stage 7

During this stage, children develop quality stroke techniques up to 100 metres incorporating the skills they have learned, and combine them to develop a linked routine. They also complete successfully an obstacle course that combines a variety of skills accomplished through stages 1-7.
Once the swimmer has developed the core range of skills required to be confident, competent and safe in the water through stages 1-7, he or she can then take part in different aquatic disciplines through stages 8-10

Stages 8 - 10

These stages are called the FUNdamental Sport Skills of the ASA Learn to Swim Programme. Disciplines available to swimmers are competitive swimming, diving, synchronised swimming, water polo and rookie lifesaving

Stages 8, 9 and 10 of the ASA Learn to Swim Programme are discipline specific and have synergy with the grass roots programmes developed by the disciplines to support the individual sports. DIVING is hugely popular with our swimmers and we introduce mini-polo for swimmers interested in water polo

Telephone: 07788 259887 Email: info@go2swim.com Go2Swim ASA Go2Swim ASA Go2Swim

Copyright Go2Swim © 2011